Olave the Bear

When I made my new camp blanket early last year, I discovered that metal badges had come off my old blanket (namely my yellow and blue trefoil badges from my time as a Guide). I didn’t want to put the remaining ones back on because if wrapped it around you and leaning against something, metal badges are not the most comfortable! Then I stumbled across this post at The Guide Life about her mascot bear. I thought this was a genius idea, and I asked her about where she got the camp blanket poncho.
img_8410-1

The lovely ‘TheGuideLife’ replied back to my comment quickly saying she got the blanket poncho at Blankets for Bears. It’s run by a leader who makes them, and sells them via her facebook page. I was super lucky she had a leader poncho for a bear in stock and she sent me it as soon as she received the paypal payment. A few days later the bear I ordered from Build A Bear arrived in the post too. I found my old senior section badge tab and the metal badges I had in a box and immediately pinned them on the poncho. I decided to name her Olave, after Olave Baden-Powell. She does still need some clothes for under her poncho (and I think some wellies?).

Thank you so much TheGuideLife and Blankets for Bears for being so kind and helpful. 🙂

If anyone knows of a place where I could get a bear sized leader polo/hoodie, please let me know!

One thought on “Olave the Bear

Leave a Reply

