Starting the year at Senior Section…

This year I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to blog, as I’m now the only Senior Section leader, and we’re still waiting for a third adult leader for Guides.

I’ve had to stop one of my Senior Section groups, and so now I just have the one group. All the girls bar one are in S5 (for those of you outside of Scotland, that’s the first year of ‘sixth form’), the academic pressures are there and I know from last year that they will struggle to keep on with Girlguiding.

So…how to make Senior Section have a purpose that is going to be helpful to them?

I started the year by getting them to take out a pen and piece of paper and write down the answers to six questions, which I forgot to actually write down myself. They went something along the lines of…

  1. What is something that they are passionate about?
  2. If they could change anything about the world, what would it be?
  3. What would they like to achieve of being part of Senior Section?
  4. What would they like to learn before they leave their parents’ home?
  5. What do they want to do with their lives?
  6. and I can’t remember what the sixth question was…!

It was interesting to see what the girls’ answers were. Pretty much all of them wrote the same thing for question number 2. And this term we are going to focus on achieving the answers to question number 4.

What were the answers to that one? Understanding laundry labels, being able to do their own laundry, being able to boil potatoes, learning how to cook ‘proper’ meals, knowing how to budget and manage their finances, know how to do taxes, know how to pay bills, understand what loans and credit cards involve…oh, and one of my members wants to learn how to rap because like me, she’s been listening to the Hamilton cast recording all summer!

And so…I really need to refresh my adulting skills so I can share them with the Senior Section. Or….I need to find some adultier adults to help me!

2 thoughts on “Starting the year at Senior Section…

  1. Pingback: Rangers learn some life skills | The Girlguiding Life

  2. Pingback: 5 years of Look Wider… | The Girlguiding Life

Leave a Reply

