Looks like we made it…

IMG_6605

Term is almost over! I’m not going to lie, this year has been one of the toughest as a leader. Our Guide unit continues to grow, but we are trying to meet the challenges of a group of mostly 10 year olds, two girls who are needing support through Baden-Powell, and two Young Leaders who are trying to get through their Young Leadership Qualification. When your unit leader comes past with a tearful girl heading towards the First Aid box and you get told “can you give that patrol what for about safe use of scissors”, and then a few minutes later get informed that the same girl who stabbed a Guide in the eye with scissors is also throwing glue around…yeah.

I’m also very aware that come Autumn, I’ll be finished my degree and that further cuts (redundancies) are being made to Community Education in the local authorities. The chances of me finding paid work here are slim, and I’m likely going to have to look for a job in another town or city. If that happens…who will take over Senior Section? I don’t worry about Guides as there are other leaders to keep continuity. But Senior Section is ever changing and this year has felt like a battle. And yet I have girls that are really wanting to have that Ranger style unit available to them.

All in all, I’m really hoping for a good chocolate supply this coming fortnight between Easter and my birthday. 🙂 I’m needing it.

One thought on “Looks like we made it…

Leave a Reply

