The Girlguiding Oscars

We had an important and prestigious event near the end of term…The Girlguiding Oscars!IMG_5316

 

In early 2012, my friend that was the other Assistant Leader at our Guides was doing her Leadership Qualifcation, and it was through her mentor that I was finally able to get my hands on an LQ booklet. 9 months later I started the new Senior Section with a new volunteer, and I was suddenly doing two module 1s – for Guides and Senior Section.

Early last year Ashleigh and I finished our LQs, Jenny finished hers in the Autumn. As Ashleigh’s Guides and our first Senior Section unit meet in the same place, we decided to have a joint celebration – as the District Commissioner wanted to make a deal of presenting Ashleigh with hers as she had waited so patiently. It was also an opportunity for two new volunteers who are now doing their LQs to organise a joint event between two sections.

We invited our Division Commissioner, Ashleigh’s District Commissioner, and the girls decided we should dress up and make it ‘Oscar’ themed. We used the opportunity for the two trainee Leaders and four of our newer Senior Section members to make their Promise, and to give out badges and awards that had been achieved by the Guides and Senior Section throughout the term. The Senior Section had created an Oscars quiz (which the leaders won – oops!)

IMG_5330

IMG_5338

It was a lovely evening – and fun to have some Mums there (my own Mum and Ashleigh’s Mum). Our oldest Senior Section member (and now a fellow adult leader) took photos for Jenny’s Mum as she lives quite a few hours drive away.

IMG_5339

We also had our Oscars cake made by the same lady who made one for our first Guides that achieved their Baden-Powell Award in 2013. Thank you Suzy! This cake may have been the favourite part of the evening.

However, I am so very happy to finally have this very special badge that I have been wanting to earn since I was 16 and was a Trainee Leader with a Guide Unit in Edinburgh after I had completed by Baden-Powell Award. Back then, it was known as the ‘Warrant’. 🙂

IMG_5341

I’ve been trying to get my Holiday License for over a year now, and had finally got on a training course only to have to pull out as the dates clashed with my work. It was totally gutting. The girls have almost given up pestering me about going away as a unit, and I’d hoped to take them to a County Camp – only to discover there isn’t to be one this year (last year, it clashed with our local fair). I have however, encourage two Guides to go to a national camp in the summer with a group going from our County. It will be their first time camping. I would be going to help, but finances won’t allow just now. Instead next term I’m going to be trying to teach them how to make a bedding roll and hope they’ll be equipped and treated kindly by the other leaders.

I’m sure they will be. They are however slightly freaked by the discovery that they can’t have phones or hairdryers and hair straighteners at camp!

2 thoughts on “The Girlguiding Oscars

Leave a Reply

