Campfire Sunday: On My Honour

This is possibly one of my favourite guiding songs. For me it speaks of the tradition of Guiding, the promise and law that may have evolved in the last 100 years, but the principles remain the same. I hope they remain that way forever and that future generations of Girlguiding and Girl Scouts around the world remember our Guiding ancestors that came before us and the example they set before us of friendship, peace and service to the community.

This is usually one I do near the end of a campfire.

On my honour

On my honour, I will try
There’s a duty to be done and I say aye
There’s a reason here for a reason above
My honour is to try and my duty is love

People don’t need to know my name
If I do any harm, then I’m to blame
When I help another, I help me
If I’ve opened up my eyes to see

I’ve tucked away a song or two
If you’re feeling low, there’s one for you
When you need a friend, then I will come
There are many more where I come from

Come with me where a fire burns bright
We can even see better in a candle’s light
But we find more meaning in a campfire’s glow
Than we’d ever learn in a year or so

We’ve made a promise to always keep
And the day is done before we sleep
We’ll be Girl Guides together and when we’re gone
We’ll still be trying and singing this song

This is isn’t quite how I sing it, but it’s the closest version I could find that wasn’t really horrendous to listen to on YouTube!

Leave a Reply

