Campfire Sunday: Boom Chicka Boom

Boom Chicka Boom is probably one of our Guide units favourite songs. It’s really good for when you have people who don’t know campfire songs because it’s a ‘repeat after me’ song. It is also better being sung standing up, so if they are starting to get bored/fall asleep, this is a good one to get the blood moving again! For it to work, it needs a dose of silliness and not taking yourself too seriously. The girls always laugh and join in the more I ‘over do’ the actions I make up! If you don’t do it enthusiatically, the girls likely won’t either.

You can also make up your own verses, and I’m sure some of you have ones to add that your own units do, or variations of the ones I’ve put here. 🙂 In fact, you’ll notice in the video some different styles (their ‘valley girl’ is similar to our ‘mean girl’ style).

Boom Chicka Boom

I said a Boom Chicka Boom (I said a Boom Chicka Boom)
I said a Boom Chicka Boom (I said a Boom Chicka Boom)
I said a Boom Chicka Rocka Chicka Rocka Chicka Boom (I said a Boom Chicka Rocka Chicka Rocka Chicka Boom)
Uh huh (Uh huh)
Oh yeah (oh yeah)
One more time ______ style. / 
Awww…no more styles [when you sing it for the last time]

Janitor Style: (sweeping actions)

I said a Broom Sweep-a Broom
I said a Broom Sweep-a Broom
I said a Broom Sweep-a Mop-a Sweep-a Mop-a Sweep-a Broom

Farmyard Style: (pretend to be a cow)

I said a moo chicka moo
I said a moo chicka moo
I said a moo chicka watch your step, don’t track it in the room.

Mean girl style: (Hair flicking, hand on hip and a general look of disdain)

I said like boom chicka boom
I said a totally boom chicka boom
I said like boom chicka rocka chicka gag me with a spoon

Photographer Style: (pretend to be clicking a camera)

I said a zoom clicka zoom.
I said a zoom clicka zoom.
I said a zoom clicka Smile Watch the Birdie clicka zoom.

Surfer Style: (pretend to be on a surfboard)

I said a dude chicka dude
I said a dude chicka dude
I said a dude chicka wipe out chicka WHOA chicka dude

Parent Style: (wag fingers sternly)

I said a boom GO TO YOUR ROOM
I said a boom GO TO YOUR ROOM
I said a boom GO TO YOUR ROOM and don’t come out ’til next June.

Leave a Reply

