Leadership Qualification: first aid

20140502-175300.jpg

 

April 26th was a big day. I was still in my pyjamas putting my lunch together (priorities…food over clothing) when Jenny (fellow Senior Section leader) arrived at my front door. After I’d swapped my pyjamas for jeans we headed to the bus stop where we met one of the young leaders and the three of us hopped on a bus to the Edinburgh Girlguiding HQ.

Why?

Because we FINALLY had all managed to track down some First Aid training and book on.

The demise of the oh so helpful county calendar has led to us often not finding out about training until after the fact, and we’ve had words with County about the difficulties navigating the website and knowing where you can find information (if it’s even there).

Anyway. RANT OVER.

The training that Girlguiding Edinburgh does for new leaders (or leaders who have not managed to refresh their training in a while) is provided by one of my favourite charities: British Red Cross. We had two male trainers, and they were excellent. They explained everything really well, put everyone at ease and were willing to learn as much as we were (always the sign of a good trainer).

We got the chance to discover there are other Senior Section units opening up in Edinburgh and other leaders are out there. Often feeling unsupported, clueless to how to get a programme started, isolated but full of enthusiasm! The great thing about doing training is that you finally get to connect with leaders outside your unit/district/division. I now make a point of trying to engage with as many people as possible at any Girlguiding event I’m part of so I can stay in contact with any other Ranger/Senior Section folks I meet!

And of course, the most fun part was bandaging each other up. Our Guides’ young leader (about to become adult leader) snapped a picture of me on her phone which I haven’t seen, and I retaliated by taking a picture of her and Jenny with their arms in slings. 🙂

So now, I’m first aid trained and all I need to do now for my LQ is track down my mentor to get everything signed off. And find someone to observe me at a Senior Section meeting so I can complete my Senior Section Module 1 (my Guides one is complete already). I’ve done all the work. I’ve accounted. I’ve organised. I’ve evaluated. I’ve risk assessed. I’ve joined with other units and sections. And now I’ve bandaged, put people in the recovery position and done chest compressions on a resusci-annie.

I’m ready to be a qualified leader.

I think.

I hope.

I’ve pretty much been doing it for a couple of years now anyway? 🙂

 

One thought on “Leadership Qualification: first aid

Leave a Reply

